top of page

The Grammar Nazis aren't Wrong


The content of a résumé is an employer’s first impression of the job seeker. When it comes to applying for a job, résumés must be up to par with grammar in order to showcase intelligence and that the job seeker is detail oriented. Most jobs require employees to understand language and the importance of grammar because of its effectiveness in relaying information to the masses, including readers, consumers, future employees, and future employers. For Kyle Weins, owner of iFixit.com and Dozuki, two companies that focus on technical writing, grammar is his be­all and end­all for potential employees. According to his article, “I Won’t Hire People Who Use Poor Grammar. Here’s Why,” all applicants take a grammar test to prove their worthiness, no matter the position they are applying for, be it sales, operations, or programming. He argues that those who prove that their grammar skills are strong will pay more attention to their job performance in general, and will achieve more goals while not making as many mistakes as their contenders (Weins). Language is always changing, but, as Susan Adams notes in her Forbes article titled, “Why Grammar Counts at Work,” even though language is constantly changing as society changes, it is still important to consider proper grammar and the respect it indicates towards people. When someone speaks to another person, he is indicating how intelligent he is, despite what he shows on paper. Maintaining an organized speech pattern and being clear and concise when explaining things to others is indicative of how well organized someone’s thoughts are, and how organized he is concerning other areas of life, such as in the workplace. Another advantage of being able to speak and write in an effective manner is showing understanding towards others. Responding to others in a detailed, thoughtful way suggests that one is listening to others and cares about them (Adams). Anyone can say they are detail oriented, knowing that employers love organized and detailed people, but proving it consistently on paper and when speaking means more to the employers than simply listing it as a skill on a résumé.

A look at the communication skills needed for a medical scientist can help outline how professional communicative skills are necessary for everyone. Even scientists must understand grammar and exhibit good editing skills. Medical scientists must write and publish about their findings after their research is completed, and must write grants and proposals so that they can receive funding for further research opportunities. Their reports are written for other scientists as well as the general public, so they must ensure that the information is clear enough for many people to understand the outcomes of the research they conducted. Their interpretational skills must also be practiced, as they must interpret information from data they collect and from the research findings of other scientists. Basic computer skills are also necessary, since many scientists collaborate using the internet, posting their research conclusions and hypotheses online for others to interpret and study. Other than a computer, there is not necessarily any special equipment that scientists must use to communicate, but they do need to understand how basic lab equipment is used, especially for medical scientists who also work with many medical devices. Some medical scientists also become physicians that will work with patients to conduct studies,

so they must be able to exhibit excellent interpersonal communication skills, which are useful to have no matter where an individual is working (Bureau of Labor Statistics).

The education I have received so far in my life has greatly influenced how I communicate professionally. All of my communication skills need improvement, but speaking tends to be my weakest skill. The only time I can remember I felt like a fairly clear and confident speaker was during my Senior Independent Research study presentation in high school. I practiced my presentation so many times that I am sure my family grew sick of it. Many times, I experience difficulty explaining or describing something to people, which indicates that I need to ensure that I have my thoughts organized before I speak. Practice truly makes near perfect, in this case, especially for important presentations. If I wish to become a medical scientist, I will need to perfect this flaw because I could be presenting important research discoveries to the general public and other professionals. My communication skills must exceed where they are now, which I can focus on achieving by reading more than I have been lately, since more literate people tend to recognize more grammar mistakes, according to eHow’s article, “How to Improve Your Grammar.” So far, my editing and proofreading skills seem advanced, as well as my listening, communication media usage, and researching skills, but without continuous stimulation, those skills could easily be neglected and become sloppy. This English class has undoubtedly helped me improve my skills as a communicator, which weakened slightly after a year hiatus from college, during which I did nothing to improve those skills academically. It has helped me recognize simple grammar mistakes that I still make, despite having good grammar skills to begin with. My communication skills related to science, such as clear, systematic approaches to research and writing, will improve greatly when I begin taking the science courses for my degree, as well. Even though I plan on entering a program that does not focus on English, it is discernibly still important to understand language on a higher critical thinking level because it helps improve many other skills other than literacy, like organization and reasoning. To perform well as a college student, or as any student or professional, the understanding of language is the basis of learning.

In college, I am surrounded by students who have chosen to continue improving their professional skills and increase their knowledge of subjects they are passionate about. Even though I may have thought that my communication skills were good enough, surrounding myself with many other diligent students that boast their own unique strengths and weaknesses highlighted the fact that I still have ample room for improvement, especially concerning communication. To continue improving my communication skills, I will not allow media outside of my professional environments diminish my ability to communicate professionally, so let the grammar nazis loose.

 

Works Cited

Adams, Susan. "Why Grammar Counts at Work." Forbes. 20 July 2012. Web. 10 April 2016. <http://www.forbes.com/sites/susanadams/2012/07/20/why-grammar-counts-at-work/>.

Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor. “Medical Scientists" Occupational Outlook Handbook 17 Dec. 2015. 12 Apr. 2016. <http://www.bls.gov/ooh/life-physical-and-social-science/medical-scientists.htm>.

"How to Improve Your Grammar." EHow. Demand Media, N.d. Web. 24 Apr. 2016. <http://www.ehow.com/how_2130170_improve-grammar.html?ref=Track2>.

Weins, Kyle. "I Won't Hire People Who Use Poor Grammar. Here's Why." Harvard Business Review: HRB Blog Network. 20 July 2012. Web. 10 Apr. 2016.<http://blogs.hbr.org/cs/2012/07/i_wont_hire_people_who_use_poo.html>.


bottom of page